Just what is the Play-By-Post game?

This forum is for general, random chatter. Feel free to discuss pretty much anything here. Any game being run is also on topic.
Vardaen
Admin
Admin
Title: Great Old One
User Class: Unshackled AI

Just what is the Play-By-Post game?

Post by Vardaen » Fri Mar 05, 2004 6:31 am

I have been asked this question by several people. "What is PbP?" Well, first off it means Play-by-Post. Its the type of role playing game where players and the game master interact using message forums to move the game along. There are lots of simliar media formats for this type of online gaming. Some people simply use Email, others use the message boards like we do here, yet others use chat rooms or MU* like environments to play the game in a more 'real time' manner. PbP is a special kind of game, and it takes a special kind of attention to play, as well as host. Now I'm no expert on the subject, but I have RPed for nearly 2 decades in all manner of media, with all manner of game systems. So I feel confident in my abilities to both play in a PbP game, as well as run/host/GM a PbP game. (I am hosting two games here for example!) Here are a few pointers, tips, hints, and protocalls I have run across for PbP games. These can easily apply to many of the aforementioned forms of RPGing as well. I hope that other experienced gamers can add to this thread their tidbits and knowledge.