Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Diplomacy is a strategic board game. Its main distinction from most board wargames is negotiation: Players spend much of their time forming (and betraying) alliances with other players. Set in Europe just before the beginning of World War I , Diplomacy is played by seven players, each controlling the armed forces of a major European power.
EvilMonkey
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 1332

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by EvilMonkey » Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:50 pm

Smyrna isn't moving, only supporting. You can support units that are, in turn, supporting another unit.
Here, you hold this jar of acid and the rattlesnake. I've got to hop on the unicycle and get this chainsaw revved up.

User avatar
Hayabusa
Level 25 Mythic
Level 25 Mythic
Posts: 15431
Location: Ireland
Title: Advocatus Diaboli
User Class: Alliance Officer

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Hayabusa » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:10 pm

EvilMonkey wrote:You can support units that are, in turn, supporting another unit.
Wait, what? IF that was true than I could create support lines that run through all my adjacent units.
Image
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us."

User avatar
Vardaen
Admin
Admin
Posts: 66181
Location: Miskatonic University
Title: Great Old One
User Class: Unshackled AI

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Vardaen » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:18 pm

No, you can't.

First off

A(Constantinople) s F(Smyrna)

doesn't even say what its attempting to support for. Its only option is to support a Hold because of its reach/range/sphere of influence. So even assuming it was supporting a Hold, Smyrna didn't hold, so its a broken order.

"A unit ordered to move can only be supported by a
support order that matches the move the unit is trying to
make."

Constantinople didn't match the order, so its no good.
"He that breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom." - Gandalf
J.R.R. Tolkien, Council of Elrond, The Fellowship of the Ring

User avatar
Hayabusa
Level 25 Mythic
Level 25 Mythic
Posts: 15431
Location: Ireland
Title: Advocatus Diaboli
User Class: Alliance Officer

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Hayabusa » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:49 pm

Vardaen wrote:No, you can't.
That's what I thought.

But this:
EvilMonkey wrote:Smyrna isn't moving, only supporting. You can support units that are, in turn, supporting another unit.
Sounded like I can support a support.
Image
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us."

MadVlat
Level 17 Elite
Level 17 Elite
Posts: 6867

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by MadVlat » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:10 pm

From: MadVlat
To: Grimbold
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:48 pm
Subject: Diplomacy
Spring 1906 Moves:

A Con Support Smy
A Arm - Syr
F Bla - Arm
F Smy Support Arm - Sy
----------------------------------------------
Con is supporting Smy so as long as Smy does not move the support is good. The Austrian unit has no place to move and cannot retreat across water so is plucked...
...And the stone of the earth and the wind in the sky bowed before the wisdom of the Ancient One...

User avatar
Hayabusa
Level 25 Mythic
Level 25 Mythic
Posts: 15431
Location: Ireland
Title: Advocatus Diaboli
User Class: Alliance Officer

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Hayabusa » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:16 pm

So...
Con supports Smy (don't you have to enter a unit type there, aaanyway). Smy support Arm. And Arm takes Syr.

Nope, I don't get it. I thought you can only support a move if your unit is in an adjacent region. If that is not the case, I could support a move into Rumania from Livonia over Moscow, Warsaw, Ukraine and Galicia.

Does that mean I can support a unit that's supporting another unit without the two being in touch with the target region?
Image
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us."

MadVlat
Level 17 Elite
Level 17 Elite
Posts: 6867

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by MadVlat » Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:06 am

Not supporting the moving place. Con was supporting the territory which borders it. Making it harder for the support of the move to be cut by enemy attack...
...And the stone of the earth and the wind in the sky bowed before the wisdom of the Ancient One...

User avatar
Grimbold
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10134
Location: Austria
Title: Professor
User Class: Rogue Trader

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Grimbold » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:01 pm

Rulebook page 10:
"Supporting a Unit
• A unit not ordered to move can be supported by a
support order that only mentions its province. A unit that
is ordered to hold, convoy, support, or not ordered at all can
receive support in holding its position. For example, if the
order is written “F Den S F Bal,” then the Fleet in Denmark
will support the Fleet in the Baltic Sea as long as the Fleet
in the Baltic is holding, convoying, or supporting. If the
Fleet in the Baltic attempts to move, then the support from
Denmark is invalid."

So Smyrna has a Defense of 2, and so there is a standoff against the attack from Syria (aided by the Fleet).

Page 12: "Support is cut if the unit giving support is attacked from
any province except the one where support is being
given. The support is cut whether this attack on the
supporting unit succeeds or not."

So the support for the armenian army to attack Syria is not cut, that means it is 2 on 1 here - Austrian army is dislodged, no retreat possible.

Note: Yes, two adjacent units can support each others holds. IE
A(Berlin) s A (Denmark) hold AND
A(Denmark) s A (Berlin) hold

You can support a hold if the other unit does not move.

Any questions?

****************
I have already one set of orders for the fall - Germany. What about the others?

User avatar
Vardaen
Admin
Admin
Posts: 66181
Location: Miskatonic University
Title: Great Old One
User Class: Unshackled AI

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by Vardaen » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:53 pm

So really a unit that is supporting is in effect also holding, it get's double action. I have to say its kinda jank. I realize its not your rules, but after 4 games of this having this only come up now sort of sucks. That's a big deal, since you can in effect Hold and Support in the same round, with support in your Hold by not having to declare clearly what your second supporting army is doing. I think this is a rather large loophole/flaw with the system.

For what its worth, I'm pretty much done with this game any how. Turkey is on the ropes, and going to loose, there just is no way around it.

The Alliance is strong and no one is about to break. We could save ourselves alot of time if we called it here, don't you think?
"He that breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom." - Gandalf
J.R.R. Tolkien, Council of Elrond, The Fellowship of the Ring

EvilMonkey
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 1332

Re: Diplomacy 3 - Gameplay

Post by EvilMonkey » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:57 pm

No it isn't... If a unit isn't moving, it's holding position. Therefore a unit giving support is considered to be holding as it isn't moving. If you give a unit a Hold order, it does nothing but sit there. If you give the unit a Support order, it isn't moving, just bolstering the defense or attack value of another unit, whilst not moving. Makes perfect sense to me.
Here, you hold this jar of acid and the rattlesnake. I've got to hop on the unicycle and get this chainsaw revved up.

Post Reply